News & EventsLatest NewsCalendar


John Harrison15 Apr - 10:41
Share via

Annual Dinner news and photos from our end of season Gala evening

Old Sils Hockey Club celebrated one of the most successful seasons in its history at the Clubhouse on 13th April when a full house of 130 members and supporters enjoyed a memorable Annual Dinner & Awards evening.

After a superb 3-course meal (thank you Rupert Davies and team), the toast to the Club was proposed by Jamie Clapham, and three excellent and amusing speeches by Andre Tchakhotine, Hattie Evans and Tom Harrison reported on super-successful seasons for the Juniors, Ladies and Mens sections.

President Jason Dalby summarised the many non-playing achievements, highlighted the new kit announcement for next season and introduced our guests, OSA President Simon Westwood and Solihull School Head of Hockey Chris Mayer, before the final Awards of the night were presented.

A highlight of the evening was the presentation of three OSHC HONORARY LIFE MEMBERSHIPS. Only twenty HLMs have been awarded in the 94-year history of the club, so this was a momentous occasion, with the awards presented to JAMIE CLAPHAM, MAX LEVENGER and JASON DALBY to recognise their outstanding contributions to the club over many years. And Jamie and Sophie take the very best wishes of all at Old Sils with them as they start their new life in Australia in just a few days time.

The full list of award winners is below, and…

• Photos of the evening can be found at

• a full statistical report of results and individual achievements for the season (thanks to Steve Tabb) is here , (

• and the slideshow of photos from the season which was shown throughout the evening (thanks to David Burton) is also uploaded

And most importantly, the AWARD WINNERS were....

Heather Linley Memorial Trophy for outstanding contribution from a schoolgirl: FRANKIE COX
Colts Award for outstanding contribution from a schoolboy: ALEX DELANEY

Joe Wood Trophy for the most improved Men’s player: HARRY GRIFFITHS POINTON
Ann Wagstaff Memorial Cup for the most improved Ladies player: EMILY COX

Tinker Shield awarded to the Ladies top goal scorer: LIV STRAW
Lev’s Lump awarded to the Men’s top goal scorer: DAN BRIDGES

Roger Flood Award for services to running Ladies hockey: LOUISA TCHAKHOTINE
Captains Cup for long service to the club: SIMON RUSSELL

Victor Hawley Bowl for the Junior team of the year: (TO BE ANNOUNCED)
Presidents Shield for the Adult team of the year: LADIES 1ST XI

Shorthouse Salver for the Club Player of the Year: JACK BURTON
Presidents Cup for the outstanding 1st XI Player of the Year: TOM HARRISON

Chairman’s Shield for services to the infrastructure of the club: IAN WILSON
Cutler Award for the outstanding contribution to the club: JIM GOLDSTRAW


Further reading