Fabulous Celebration of the Season

Fabulous Celebration of the Season

By Stephen Tabb
7th April
Share via

Record numbers at Club Dinner party the night away

Saturday evening saw a fitting finale to a record breaking season. Almost 100 of the Club's current, past and social members gathered at the Memorial Clubhouse to celebrate a fantastic season, alongside the backdrop of the GB Men defeating Argentina 5-1.

The evening welcomed guests Max Brown and Sofia Cusack (Boys and Girls 1st Team Captains at the school) along with Simon Griffiths (President of the OSA) and Steve Marks (President of the Rugby Club). Sadly, guest speaker, Joel Forrester (Managing Director of Hockey for Heroes) was unable to make it, as his daughter was in a serious car accident in the afternoon - we wish her a speedy recovery.

The evening saw the usual fantastic catering from Rupert, and much merriment ensued (particularly on the M1 table) - with John Harrison referencing the true family nature of the Sils in his toast to the club; Emma James and Tom Harrison providing summaries of the senior sections (one more succinctly than the other) - with main mentions going to L1 as Warwickshire Division 1 Champions, L2 finishing in their highest league position for 16 years, M1 achieving promotion back to the Midlands Divisions, and all other Men's teams avoiding relegation. The highly successful joint Solihull Masters sides at Over 40s and Over 50s, who both reached National QF is also of note.

Jason Dalby ended up being far briefer than he was planning with his toast to the guests, and then the Chairman gave an impromptu speech on Hockey for Heroes which, whilst not as entertaining as Joel's would have been, still seemed to strike a chord - and a request for support to their latest challenge #OpOlympus, which will see James Clapham and Steve Tabb from the Sils join others to play in the highest altitude game of hockey to ever be played - at over 5000m - up the Annapurna Range of the Himalayas, whilst also coaching hockey to school children on the trek up.

A full list of winners, including the first recipient of the new Shorthouse Salver, can be found below:

Schoolgirl of the Year - Annabel Dalby
Schoolboy of the Year - Dan Bridges
Ladies' Top Scorer - Frankie Levey
Men's Top Scorer - Andy Rush
Ladies' Most Improved - Sarah Crane
Men's Most Improved - Millan Chauhan

Club Player of the Year (Shorthouse Salver) - John Harrison
1st XIs Player of the Year - James Clapham
Team of the Year - Ladies 1st XI

Service to Ladies Hockey - Andrew Scott
Long Service to the Club - Shaun Bates

Chairman's Award - Ian Wilson
Clubman of the Year - James Clapham

Share via